Brief profile of the Department

Dr. A. Gnanam joined the Department of Biology as a Reader in 1969 and initiated a research unit of Plant Sciences with two lecturers. In 1973, he became Professor and Head until 1985. Prof. Gnanam was instrumental in establishing DST Centre for ‘Photosynthesis’. Dr. G. Kulandaivelu joined in 1971 as a lecturer and became Prof. and Head and served the department until 2007. Many well-known botanists like Drs. Padmanabhan, Seeni, Daniel, Bhardwaj, Salil Bose,MannarMannan, Anukanth, A. K. Gupta, Kailash Paliwal, Manoharan and P. Sudhakar Swamy served and contributed for this Department Development. Currently this Department is actively engaged in Research and Teaching with two Faculty members.

programmes offered in the Department

Academic programmes offered in the Department at PG degree, Diploma, M.Phil and Ph.D level
1. M.Phil. Botany: Regular Programme
2. Ph.D. programmes: in the areas of Biodiversity and conservation, Bioprospecting of Medicinal plants, Invasion ecology, Aquatic ecology, Plant pathology, Plant Molecular Biology and Plant Genomics.

Faculty Members

Dr. S. Chandrasekaran

On Lien as Dean (College Development Council) (i/c), at Madurai Kamaraj University

Professor of Plant Sciences & Chairperson

Head, Dept. of Plant Morphology and Algology

Read More

T. Jebasingh

Assistant Professor

Read More

Dr. K. Sivakumar

Annamalai University Faculty on Deputation Basis


Read More