Welcome to School of Indian Languages

The School of Indian Languages was established in 1971-1972 with the objective of inculcating advanced studies in Sanskrit and other South Indian Languages. The school consists of four Language Departments namely, Department of Kannada, Department of Malayalam, Department of Sanskrit and Department of Telugu. All the four departments function under the leadership of a common Chairperson, materializing the ideal of linguistic unity in diversity. All the four departments, housed in the same building allotted for the school of Indian languages, impart avenues of higher learning in these languages. They offer all the reputed courses of the University as per the norms of the U.G.C with the help of their respective Boards of Studies. Seminars and literary Workshops are conducted with mutual collaboration of the departments every year. Minor and Major Research Projects are carried out individually and collaboratively by the faculty form the highlight of research activity in the School. Publications of individual and collective literature, besides the presentations of Research Papers by faculty and scholars also enhance the School’s academic caliber. Extension activities like Village Adoptions and Literacy Drives besides ventures of Medical and Environmental Awareness add feathers in the cap of the School’s global accreditation.

Read More

Green Campus Aerial View

News & Events

Read More

Research Projects


Contacts Us

Dr. M. Thangaraj

Professor and Head, Chairperson (i/c)

School of Indian Languages

Madurai Kamaraj University

Madurai 625 021

Mobile No:99442621106

Email: schelliah62@gmail.com