About Us

     The School of Energy, Environment and Natural Resources (SEEN) was established in 1981 by Prof. S. Krishnaswamy and Prof. A. Gnanam with a vision to establish a scientific department of the highest calibre where teaching and education are totally integrated with state-of-the-art research in the field of energy and environment and that has grown rapidly to become a multidisciplinary school. The School includes five departments viz., Solar Energy, Bioenergy, Environment, Natural Resources and Waste Recycling, Marine & Coastal Studies along with the Centers such as Centre for Biodiversity and Solar Testing Centre. SEEN has developed excellent facilities for the academic and research activities with the support of University Grants Commission (UGC), Department of Science and Technology (DST) and Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE). The school has received research grants under SAP (Special Assistance Programme) from UGC to encourage the infrastructure facilities for the researchers. Every year ENERGY FEST is organised to motivate the students and researchers to address the societal applications. The School has sophisticated and advanced analytical infrastructure facilities to provide high-quality research. Many research equipments designed for the School connecting the motto of the lab to land have been established for the betterment of the society. The faculty members from the school have received recognitions from various National and International organizations based on their research and teaching activities. Over 350 PG and M.Phil., students and 150 research scholars have completed their academic and research degrees from the School. The research articles with high impact factor have been published from the SEEN which scored to more than 1000 research papers. Most significant achievements include three eminent Professors of our School who have occupied the Vice-Chancellors positions in the State universities of Tamil Nadu.


     As an interactive and common activity of all the departments of the School, we started offering a two year (4 semesters) M.Sc. Programme in Energy Science, which is first of its kind in the country, from 1991. The course content encompasses production, conversion, utilization and storage of both conventional and non-conventional resources with special emphasis on management, conservation and environmental impacts. The course is designed to train the students for applied work related to energy so as to fulfill the much needed man power in industries and governmental organizations for energy management and planning. The students are given intensive field training in industries during their course work. The annual intake is ten. In the meantime, the nomenclature was changed to M.Sc., Environmental Science. The annual intake is about sixteen.

    To encourage students of various disciplines who have aptitude to take up research work in interdisciplinary areas of energy and environment, the school has been offering 1 year (two semesters) M.Phil., Programme from 1982. The students are exposed to the basic advanced studies on Energy and Environment and trained in specialized areas with emphasis on research Methodology. The annual intake is about ten.

    In addition, the Department of Marine and Coastal Studies exclusively offers a two year M.Sc., Marine Biology from 2014-15 onwards (Previously M.Sc. Sub-Aqua Marine Ecology and Toxicogenomics from 2005-06 to 2013-14). The course covers the biology of the marine flora and fauna and the physical, chemical oceanography. It encompasses the coral reef ecology, monitoring, and conservation of marine habitats. The course is designed to guide the students to study the beauty of the earth with its livelihood. The students are trained to socialize with the coastal community people. The students are trained to monitor the marine environment by snorkeling and other techniques. The annual intake is 12.

    The Marine Studies Department also offer a one year (2 semester) M.Phil., Marine Environmental Studies to encourage students of various disciplines who aimed to engage in research in marine environment. The annual intake is 10. Also the department offer One Year UGC Innovative P.G. Diploma in “SCUBA DIVING” for Marine Biotechnology”. The course has been designed to help post-graduate students to develop scientific diving skills to sample biodiversity from the deeper regions of the oceans to explore potential drugs using biotechnological techniques. Students pursuing this course will be able to make a career in teaching (SCUBA TRAINER by different level of certification) and research. SCUBA DIVERS will assist scientific researchers in collecting underwater samples and they can help in rescue efforts and archaeological investigations. The annual intake is 10.

The School Consists of the following Departments and Centre's

  1. Department of Bioenergy
  2. Department of Solar Energy
  3. Department of Environment studies
  4. Department of Natural Resources and Waste Recycling
  5. Department of Marine and Coastal Studies


  1. Gasification Action Research Centre, MNRE, New Delhi
  2. Regional Solar Test Centre (Solar Thermal), MNRE, New Delhi
  3. Centre for Marine and Coastal Studies (1998-2009)
  4. Centre for Biodiversity and Forest Studies, MoEF, New Delhi (2001 onwards)