About Us

    The School of Business studies consist of three departments namely Department of Commerce, Department of Entrepreneurship Studies and Department of Management Studies.
    The Department of Management Studies was started in the academic year 1980-81 as residential programme with a view to spread management education, training and consultancy in the southern part of Tamil Nadu. It was the 4th Institution in Tamil Nadu to start full time MBA Programme. During 1987, the UGC has sanctioned around Rs. 1 crore towards meeting Non-recurring expenses.(Department Building, Hostel exclusively for MBA and Mini Bus) and recurring expenses towards staff (Professor-3, Readers-5,Placement officer-1 and Lecturer-5) besides library and computer. Currently, the Department is offering M.B.A.(Full-time and Part-time) specializing in Finance, Marketing, Human Resource Management and Systems besides M.Phil. and Ph.D Programmes

Year of Establishment


Year of establishment


Name of the Department

1980-81 Department of Management Studies
1983-84 Department of Commerce
1997-98 Department of Entrepreneurship Studies


The following Professors occupied the position of Chairperson of the school since 2011




Name of the Professor

01.07. 2011 to 30.06.2013 Prof. C. Chandran
01.07.2013 to 30.06.2015

01.07.2017 to 01.06.2019
Prof. K. Ravichandran
01.07.2019 to till date Prof. V. Chinniah


The School Consists of the following Departments

  1. Department of Management Studies 
  2.  Department of Commerce
  3. Department of Entrepreneurship Studies