Welcome to School of Social Sciences

              The School of Social Sciences was formed in 2002 with two Departments, Department of Political Science and Department of Sociology. Both these Departments were established in the University during 1976. The Vision of the School aims to sensitize the younger generation to be socially responsible and constructively contribute to nation building. It has a Mission to set National Standards through excellence in teaching, research and extension.
              The School is housed in DR. B. R. Ambedkar Maligai. It has 10 faculty members with expertise in Panchayat Raj, Rural Development, Mass Communication, Medical Sociology, Social Change, Subaltern Studies, Welfare Administration, Police Administration, International Relations and Security Studies. It has awarded doctoral degree to more than one hundred and fifty scholars and about 75 candidates are currently working on their doctoral dissertation. The School has carried out Twenty Research Projects which are funded both by National and International Agencies.

             '; The UGC has recognized the Department of Sociology as a Department of Research Support under its Special Assistance Programme. The thrust areas identified by UGC are:

  • Social Change with special reference to Marginal Communities
  • Community Health, Mass Communication and Social Development

              The School also has Nehru Study Centre funded by the UGC and Pasumpon Muthuramalinga Thevar Chair funded by the Government of Tamil Nadu. Both of them are housed in the Department of Political Science. The faculty members of the school are also providing consultancy services to various governmental agencies and research institutions.

The School Consists Two Departments

1. Department of Political Science

2. Department of Sociology

Recognitions for School of Social Sciences

  • DRS Thrust Area for Level III (2013-2018)
  • DRS Thrust Area for Level II (2007-2013)
  • UGC-SAP-DRS DRS Thrust Area for Level I (2002-2007)

    Future Plans OF School of Social Sciences