Amenities and Service centers

University Guest Houses:

     There are three Guest houses in the campus. The Main Guest House is meant for administrative and academic authorities (V.I.Ps) visiting the University. The Faculty Guest House is for the faculty members visiting University for official meetings. Faculty Guest House is annexed with UGC Academic Staff College of MKU towards conducting the refresher and orientation courses for the faculty members from other Universities and colleges. The Third Guest House is attached to MKU - D.D.E. Construction of a separate guest house (fourth) is under progress for students / faculty members visiting MKU to avail specialized research training in Biological Sciences.

University Staff Quarters:

     Residential Quarters are provided to the Vice-Chancellor, Registrar, Faculty members and Administrative Staff. There are 163 Quarters to meet the requirements of the staff.

Married Research Scholars Quarters

     Residential Quarters are available for the Married Research Scholars and Post Doctoral Fellows.

University Student's Hostel:

     There are five Men's Hostels and three Women's Hostels for Post Graduate Students, M.Phil Students and Research Scholars of University.

Bank :

     State Bank of India (SBI) branch is available in the campus. A new facility named, 'State Bank Collect' was recently launched by Vice-Chancellor, Dr.Kalyani Mathivanan at the State Bank of India (SBI), Madurai Kamaraj University branch to remit university fees, tuition fees, examination fee and other payments. This facility is useful for the students enrolling in DDE programmes of MKU.

Post Office:

     A Post office is functioning adjacent to MKU campus.

Health Care:

     University Hospital renders 24 hours services to the Students, Staff, families living in the University campus and to the public from 40 neighbouring villages. Treatment is provided with nominal charge. Ambulance service is also available. MKU Hospital also works in collaboration with Apollo Speciality Hospitals.

Co-Operative Stores:

     The Co-Operative store caters to the need of the staff of the University, affiliated colleges and the residents of the campus. It also supplies essential commodities to the family card holders. The total number of members of the stores is 2184.

Co-Operative Thrift Society:

     The Thrift Society was registered in 1970. It has 980 members with a paid up share capital of Rs. 24,56,970/-. It has collected Rs. 33,09,359/- as members thrift deposit.

University Canteen:

     A canteen functions in the University campus. It caters to the needs of the staff, students and the public visiting the University.

Anti Ragging Committee:

  • click here